Fishmonger

final.jpg

Heya~

Life has been pretty chill as of late, which is very nice; I have little to no homework and plenty of free time these days which leads to lots of doodling and finally time to catch up on some books.

I have started browsing contests on 99Designs again and signing up for some, but I forgot how hard it is to find something I’m actually interested in! It’s difficult to design when a project doesn’t speak to you, and quite a few of these projects have oddly specific requirements. However, it’s still a good way for me to broaden my horizons and try new styles. Furthermore, it forces me to keep practicing which is never a bad thing.

I’ve been trying a new style as of late, as you can see with this piece. I made this with just a purple pen, black pen, and yellow markers. It was pretty simple, but it took a TON of time…my hand still hurts 😥 I’ve always loved Marimekko prints and they tend to inspire me a lot, as you can see from this piece. I also really enjoy mixing more dramatic artistry with fine detail, hence the big sweeping yellow accents paired with detailed patterns. And of course, I chose yellow because its complementary color is purple 😉 This composition includes quite a bit of repetition of certain objects and strokes to tie everything together. I’ve learned that when there’s a lack of repetition in these pieces, it tends to look very messy.

fullsizerender-1
Drawing prior to adding yellow
yellow
Drawing with first shade of yellow added

I’ll keep this post fairly short and finish off with a Spotify playlist…Spotify moved things around and I wasn’t able to find their alternative station for a while– it was like they hid it! But hurrah, I finally managed to dig it back out.

 

 

 

 

I have a lot more doodles that I’ll start posting soon on my Instagram, @simplygestalt, so stay tuned for more content!

xoxo,

Sim

Leave a Reply

