Four Peas in a Pod

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 11.11.50 PM.png

I’ll start by saying that my biggest regret with this page is keeping the stroke on the triangles. The angle of this story was that these two families at West High had been friends for a couple generations. Since we were using fairly basic photos for the story, I wanted to add a little “oomph” to it.

I like the hexagon concept that I went with, especially since geometric designs were really starting to pick up around this time. However, by keeping the black stroke on the triangles, I disrupted the photos and cut through the sources’ faces.

I think another problem with this design is that there are quite a few clashing concepts; there is the geometric angle, with the triangles and hexagons, then there is the circular look that you can see with the timeline at the bottom, and the more realistic look that the graphics have.

If I were to do this again, I would stick with one look- probably the geometric look- and incorporate that style into the timeline and graphics. Furthermore, I would change the layout of this page so either the pull quote separated the text or the timeline did. I don’t like how there is a block of text and then everything else around that- it’s not very reader friendly.

Most likely, I would completely get rid of the pull quote and add some sort of element to tie the two pages together. Right now, they feel a bit disconnected and unbalanced. I would add something to the top portion of the page that would connect the two and tie it all together.

Also, I hate how repetitive the graphics are for the timeline! I would try to think of more original graphics for that 🙂 In my defense though, I didn’t know the “Live Trace Tool” on Illustrator existed until after I finished this piece, so making all the graphics was very, very time consuming!

There is one thing I’m very proud of with this page though- the right page was a page that was assigned to be in color and the left was supposed to be black and white. I think I did a really good job of working with these limitations to create a cohesive design.

Until next time,

Simran

Leave a Reply

