The Appellation

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-29 at 5.36.14 PM.png

Hi~

I’ve decided to start posting the design spreads I’ve worked on over the last three years. A lot of my graphics on this site come from pages I worked on and I think it’s pretty cool to see how my work has evolved over my last few years on staff!

This design was part of the “Mini-newspaper project” for Introduction to Journalism. In this project, I had a group of people to work with and we created our own mini newspaper. This was the cover of our publication, The Appellation. It’s kind of funny, but I actually found my passion for design during the very last project of our class! After this project, our Newspaper advisor, Sara, asked me if I wanted to be Assistant Design Editor for the following year.

I got my inspiration for this page from Pinterest. I made this in 2014, so patterns and large typography were a big trend back then. Since this was one of my first big designs, I was pretty new to InDesign. If I remember correctly, I only used the Pen Tool, Eyedropper Tool, and Type Tool to create this! Now I know lots of shortcuts that would have made this design go very quickly, but back then I had to come in before and after school every day to keep working. I didn’t even know about the Direct Selection Tool, so every time my lines weren’t completely straight, I redid everything! Wow, that sounds very tedious now when I think back. 🙂

Personally, I still love the way the this design looks, but one thing I would’ve changed is the contrast between the typography and background. I think it blends in too much with the patterns and although there is clarification in a smaller font, perhaps the color of the larger typography should’ve been a bit lighter.

In the following posts, I’ll share other works I created from this publication!

Cheers!

Simran

 

Leave a Reply

