Be Bold

img_0646-1


Ah yes, three weeks in and the Farm life is better than ever! I’ve had quite an eventful two weeks, to say the least. Last week I had a bad fall while running at Lake Lagunita but hey, I think there were more pros than cons that arose from the situation:

Pros: I now know where the Vaden Health Center is and I am running at other places on campus so I’m exploring more. Also, I found out that the Doctor On Call isn’t actually a doctor…heh.

Con: I couldn’t run for a week and apparently lots of people get hurt running around Lake Lagunita so I wish I had found that out a bit earlier.

But yay, I’ve been running again as of Sunday!  The other day I was running the Campus Drive Loop and I found this super cool artwork:
img_8303

I had already been thinking about checking out the Enchanted Broccoli Forest, but after seeing this sign, I’m even more excited to go! I also ran by the Cantor Center for Visual Arts, which I definitely need to check out soon.

Every day here is so much fun, even when it seems like not much is happening. I feel like I’m living the true college experience, especially when I’m cooped up in the Green Library all day memorizing cranial nerves and all that jazz (and of course, eating ramen for every other meal).

Yesterday was really funny- I woke up at 9:20 and my Drawing Outdoors class started at 9:30. I’ve never run so fast in my life! I got lots of weird looks from people but hey, you gotta do what you gotta do, right?

In art, we actually talked about a gestalt principle, which was pretty cool. The discussions we have in class are always really fun and insightful. For example, the other day we talked about what art is. I think it’s a way to express the things you can’t convey in words. It’s a way to connect with others and reveal your emotions. Art is a way to express the things you don’t want to tell anyone– you can hide something in your artwork and maybe someone will understand the meaning behind it, or maybe they’ll find something else meaningful in what you’ve created. Or perhaps, people won’t even see your creation as art. But as long as what you create means something to you, and you view it as art, it’s art.

The biggest thing I’m struggling with in class right now is learning how to take risks and be bold with my artwork. I generally make things on Adobe applications so there’s always an undo button if I screw up. But if you try to undo a dark pencil mark or charcoal…well, things get a bit messy!

I made this piece after art the other day. I’ve been too caught up in the small details of the drawing I’m working on for class, so I decided to take a few risks and see where it takes me. I actually based this drawing off a doodle I found in my planner from December. If I remember correctly, I drew it during AP Gov, where all my good artwork comes– actually though, I saved so many of my gov notes because of the doodles I have on the margins.

For this drawing, I used a 6B pencil for everything except the hair. I had a fun time really digging into the paper and making the dark, harsh lines. I really like using the 6B pencil; the lines can be very dark, but the pencil is also somewhat soft. I made quite a few mistakes when I was drawing, but that was the point of making this piece. I learned to turn my mistakes into art and everything turned out ok 😁

I had to really let loose to get the dramatic look I was going for. The thing I love about drawing is how much a line can say about the artist. If the line wavers a lot, you can tell that the artist is being very careful and is scared of making a mistake. I’ve learned that the confidence you have when you make a line is visible on paper. I had to learn how to let go and make a line without worrying about the possible negative consequences. After all, everything can be fixed some way or another.

To make the hair, I used charcoal. I have a love-hate relationship with charcoal; it’s fun to use, but it can make a complete mess out of things. It’s not like graphite, where if you rub it you can blend all the strokes together. Rather, when you rub charcoal, it kind of erases your work. It gets especially frustrating when drawing with charcoal because if you accidentally swipe your hand across the page (which I do a lot), all of your work smudges with it. A majority of my time was spent cleaning up the page when I was working on the piece.

I really liked playing with different values when I was using the charcoal. I made some lines harsher and darker than others to give the hair a bit more volume. Also, rather than making a sketch of what I wanted the hair to look like and then staying in the lines, I just swept the charcoal everywhere and saw where it took me. My drawing class is teaching me so much and helping me find my own style. Rather than being super nit picky with this piece, I had a nice balance of detail paired with big, dramatic work.

All I had to do was be bold.

Leave a Reply

