Nataraj

nat4rl

 

As the days until my Bharatanatyam Arangetram dwindle away, I had to make something to commemorate the event. I’ve been learning this form of Indian classical dance since the 4th grade. This event marks the end of my journey as a student and after Friday, I will be able to teach others the art I’ve had the privilege to learn.

This graphic was quite fun to make and reminded me of all the experiences I’ve had while learning Bharatanatyam. From when I started learning Bharatanatyam until today, I’ve been with my friends Anoushka and Khushi. We have been with each other every step of the way and have spent hours upon hours dancing together. For the last year, the three of us as well as my teacher, Smitha Aunty, have been focusing all our efforts on the Arangetram. From the photo shoot in February (see below for a photo by Sanjay Uncle) to the endless intensive practices we’ve had the last few weeks, the preparation for our Arangetram has been nothing but fun. I cannot imagine dancing without Anoushka and Khushi. Traditionally, an Arangetram features only one or maybe two dancers, but all three of us are dancing, since we started together and it only felt right to finish together. Finally, the big day is right around the corner and I cannot express my excitement in words! I suppose that’s why I made this piece 🙂

This piece is an abstract drawing of Nataraja. Nataraj is a depiction of the Hindu God Shiva, in his form as the Lord of Dance. Nataraja is frequently shown with damaru (drums), the naga (snake) wrapped around him, the Ganga River flowing from his hair, a third eye and on top of Apasmara and a lotus.

A few posts ago, I talked about how I ran into quite a few problems on Adobe Sketch with how you can’t add layers on the app. Well now you can! The new update for Adobe Sketch has added several features such as a wider variety of brushes and the ability to add multiple layers, adjust the settings on the brush you use, duplicate the pieces you make and much more. It’s a wonderful update that makes the app much easier to use. I believe there have been lots of changes to Adobe Draw as well, but I haven’t had the chance to check it out yet.
A special thanks to Smitha Aunty for being a great teacher who has helped me grow immensely as both a dancer and a person. She is constantly working hard to choreograph beautiful pieces for us to dance and has never given up on us. Also, thank you to Sanjay Uncle for taking gorgeous photos that I’m sure I will be using for years to come. I wish you were able to make it to the event!

Photos by Sanjay Jani

Photos by Sanjay Jani

Leave a Reply

