Haldiram Inspires

 

When my relatives come to visit from India, along with them comes boxes upon boxes of sweets from Haldiram, a sweets company. My nani came recently and her timing was perfect – we had just finished off our last box of kaju barfi and she came with 6 or 7 more boxes.

Last night I was eating kaju barfi when my mom pulled out a box of saffron petha. Petha has always been her favorite sweet since she was little. I have always preferred kaju barfi over petha, but at the moment all I could see was a really cute color palette 😀

Classic Simran, it’s 11 pm and I pull out a dish, barfi, petha, saffron, and I get a pink background to create a palette. What can I say, sometimes you find some inspiration and you just gotta act on it before you lose it. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

You’d think taking the photo would be fairly straightforward, but the silver coating on barfi makes it really hard to get a nice photo, as it reflects so much light. It look lots of trials and awkward stances to block out the right amount of light and get a photo with minimal reflection.

This photo reminds me of nights in India, stuffing myself with burfi, laddu, gulab jamun, and so many other sweets. It just screams summer!

One thought on “Haldiram Inspires

Leave a Reply

