The Aril Of My Eye

pomAh yes, pomegranates. From the beginning of October to around the middle of February, I can always be found snacking on a box of bright red arils. Sometimes I even have a bottle of pomegranate juice to complement my snack. Eating this fruit on a daily basis for 4 months meant I was bound to make a graphic eventually.

It took me some time to decide how I wanted to depict my favorite fruit; at first I thought I’d just draw a closed pomegranate with seeds scattered around it, but I found that a half open pomegranate was a lot more aesthetically pleasing. I only used one color to make the pomegranate, but varied the levels of opacity to allow for more detail. The green background gave the piece a cool look, perfect for a winter season fruit.

Leave a Reply

